Guiding Hands

Touching lives through teaching

The highest respect and appreciation for my OB-GYN resident who actively guides me through procedures as a rotating junior intern.

During my very first normal spontaneous delivery assist, I gave her a couple of wrong answers on her questions about perineal lacerations. I didn’t even know how to proper gowning and gloving yet. My intern lost his temper over my disorientation but the resident kept her cool and taught me exactly what I had to do to fulfill my assisting duties adequately. In short, it was technically through her that I learned the motor skill requirements of vaginal delivery.

Today, at the outpatient department, I presented to her a post-Caesarian section patient who came in to have her laparotomy sutures removed. The resident could have just asked me to prepare the needed instruments and had the removal over and done with. Instead, she made me hold on to the instruments, guiding my hands as if I was the one pulling off the sutures.

Doctor, thank you for your guiding hands — for sharing the knowledge and skills generously. Thank you for not giving up on me and the other junior interns. I’m sure your hands will touch and save many more lives.

Tell me what you think.

